What Types of Foods Were Forbidden in the Old Testament?

an open book with the words old testament on it

The Old Testament, the foundational religious text of Judaism and an important part of the Christian Bible contains numerous guidelines and laws that govern various aspects of life, including dietary practices. These dietary laws, known as kosher laws or kashrut, outline which foods are permissible and which are forbidden for consumption. In … Read more

How to Help a Friend or Family Member Deal with Celiac Disease

gluten-free grains and alternative flour products

Celiac disease is a challenging condition, not just for the individuals who have it but also for their loved ones. If someone you care about has recently been diagnosed with celiac disease, navigating how to best support them can be overwhelming and intimidating. From avoiding cross-contamination in the kitchen to understanding the … Read more

How is celiac disease diagnosed?

Wheat bread

Celiac disease is an autoimmune condition wherein your immune system overreacts and attacks its own gut (small intestines) tissues whenever you eat gluten rich food.  Gluten is a binder protein found in wheat, barley, and rye. These grains are common ingredients when making pasta, pizza, cereal, cakes, bread and even beer! (Harvard … Read more

What is Gluten Free Bread?

Food Images & Pictures, Canada, Winnipeg

What is Gluten? According to Selvi Rajagopal, M.D., M.P.H., Assistant Professor of Medicine at The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, “gluten is a protein found in the wheat plant and some other grains.” The most widely consumed grain that contains gluten is by far wheat. Rye, barley, and triticale are additional … Read more

What is gluten-free pasta?

Gluten-free pasta

One traditional comfort food is pasta. There is a recipe for every occasion—from lasagna to alfredo to spaghetti and everything in between—and they are a weekly staple in many homes. However, people who are intolerant to gluten may not always be able to consume pasta manufactured from wheat. That is why gluten-free … Read more

What is Gluten-Free Flour?


Flour is a common ingredient in food production, including pastries, desserts and noodles. It is a structure-forming thickener in different food preparation—commercial flours made from white or wheat flour. Gluten-free flour is a term used for flours that contain non-gluten components. This type of flour available in the market came in different … Read more